Four Pillars

The Four Pillars of Service of The American Legion

Still Serving: It’s Who We Are

In 1919, The American Legion was founded on four pillars: Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth. Each of these pillars encompasses a variety of programs that benefit our nation’s veterans, its service members, their families, the youth of America and ordinary citizens. These programs make a difference in hundreds of thousands of lives each year.

Our organization’s positions and programs are guided by resolutions passed by American Legion National Convention delegates, and committee and commission members who represent 2.6 million wartime veterans and their families. These programs, and the men and women who take the time to perform them, are what allow The American Legion to make a difference locally, and on the state and national levels.

It’s who we are and what we do!

Pillar I.   Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, Access to VA Care


Better Funding Formula
Support for Veterans with
Special Needs
Career Opportunities
A GI Bill for a New Century
Employment and Business
Heroes to Hometowns
Final Respects

Pillar II.   National Security, Strong National Defense


Military Quality of Life
Homeland Security
Foreign Relations
Full Accounting of POW / MIAs
Operation Comfort Warriors

Pillar III.  Americanism, Flag Protection


Illegal Immigration
Voter Registration and Participation
Boy Scouts
The Pledge of Allegiance
Establishment-Clause Lawsuits

Pillar IV.  Children & Youth, Catastrophic Illness


Intellectual Disabilities
Family Integrity
Media Violence
Drug Abuse
Child Sexual Exploitation

Click here to download the booklet: The Four Pillars of the American Legion


Information on this page courtesy of

American Legion Post 176 Springfield, 6520 Amherst Ave Springfield, VA 22150, (703) 440-0336, © 2017-2021 Frontier Theme